Rosie’s Walks

Rosie and my husband walk through Portland's Forest Park.

Rosie and my husband walk through Portland’s Forest Park.

My dog Rosie took a training class this spring, and it was recommended that we take her on “smell walks.”  Alexandra Horowitz makes the same recommendation in her book Inside a Dog.  The idea is that dogs understand their world through their nose, and really want to take their time smelling it – just like humans want to stop and look when they see something really interesting.  However, we humans often yank dogs by those spots that they’re trying to understand, in the name of obedience and exercise.

Rosie’s trainer said that she used to have a dog-walking business and the dogs would get so tired that the owners thought she must go running with them.  Really, she simply let them go at their own pace, allowing them to smell whenever they wanted to.  Going slower resulted in the dogs truly being tired and losing their hyperactivity.  The trainer’s story reminded me of my own life experience – sometimes I rush through my day so quickly, but when it’s time to go to sleep, I don’t actually feel tired.  However, on the days where I really focus on a few activities and do them really well, I end with a deep sense of well-being and sleep better.

On Rosie’s first smell walk, I let her lead me across the park that our house faces.  It’s about the size of a city block, and it took ten minutes to walk across it.  At first, I enjoyed it – looking up at the trees and listening to the birds.  However, as time went on, I wanted to say to her, “really?  How can that clump of grass be that important?  Okay – we’ve seen it all now, right?” The walk taught me that I’ve grown so accustomed to always being on the move that it felt uncomfortable not to be.

I do still walk Rosie to get physical exercise – we don’t take ten minutes to cross the park every day (Horowitz recommends that you still take your dog for regular walks).  However, on Rosie’s walks, I now stop with her when she really needs a good whiff of a tree trunk, and don’t move on until she’s satisfied that she’s experienced it.  While Rosie stays in one spot, twitching her nose to take in every scent, I stay in my spot, inhaling and exhaling for a few counts.  As usual, I feel like Rosie’s teaching me.

6 comments

  1. As the mommy of a very young puppy, this is good for me to hear. Hey Chester, want to go for a walk?

    1. Walking puppies is always such an adventure! I love seeing them discover the wide, wide world.

  2. cmjunkins@gmail.com · · Reply

    You have a very lucky dog! I enjoy your blog very much. Chris

    1. We feel lucky to have Rosie! Thank you for reading my blog!

  3. Again, our canine friends are great teachers. I will try a different, slower, more sensual walk with my hyperactive terriers tomorrow.

  4. I really really want to take Rosie on a smell walk the next time I visit!

Leave a Reply

Becoming Mother

A book and a blog for first-time mothers

The New Vegan Family

Pregnancy, Parenting, and Easy Vegan Food.

A Spoonful of Nature

Lifestyle Blog

goodfoodmarsh

INTERNATIONAL FOODIE, FEMINIST & SA$$ QWEEN

Peaceful Parents, Confident Kids

Parenting With Respect

The Spirited Spondy

A detemined Spondy out to raise awareness for Ankylosing Spondylitis!

Anky..Spon...What?

Living with Ankylosing Spondylitis can be difficult but I manage one day at a time!

Asian Vegan Eats

Asian vegan recipes, food & restaurants

Attempting Perfection

Setting expectations too low has never been my problem

the living notebook

creativity : art : philosophy : productivity : writing

Edging West

Adventure + Culture + Environment

Painterly Pumpkins

Parenting, vegan cooking, writing, and the moments between.

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Kiran's Cooking Club

Everyday Indian Food

Lit For Kids

Introducing kids of all ages to the world of literature

Mom's Vegan Kitchen

Critter-free comfort food!

