Sunday Afternoons

I used to dread Sundays.  As a teacher, the pace of my weekend is so different from my weekdays.  However, last autumn my friend started coming over for Sunday night dinners.  It was the season for soups, and they seemed like a perfect Sunday night food, so I started making a new soup each Sunday.  Sharing a special Sunday night dinner made me appreciate the day more, and see the time for what it was – a time to be thankful for the weekend’s rest, and to begin making quiet, thoughtful preparations for the week ahead.

This school year, I’ve started to use Sunday afternoons as a time to prepare food for the week ahead.  It’s my day to make some homemade dressing, salsa, or bread.  It’s also an easy day to make two dishes at once – something on the stove (like soup) and something in the slow cooker.  I like having a meal pre-made, because I know it will make my week nights easier.

My favorite slow cooker cook book is The Indian Slow Cooker by Anupy Singla.  I would recommend the book to everyone, with the caveat that I use half as much salt as she calls for (your preferences may be different though).  Last week, I made a Cauliflower and Potato curry from the book.

I love making naan to go with the creations from this book.  My favorite is this naan recipe (I make the avocado version).  It has a wonderful texture.  Don’t be afraid of making bread – half the time I do, my dough goes through some growing pains where it’s either too moist or too dry – just add extra flour or water to correct it.  And it’s not too hard to get dough to rise – as the weather cools down, I get a warm place to let the dough rise by turning on the oven for a few minutes, then turning it off, so it’s just nice and warm there.  That’s where I let my bowl of bread dough sit (I also let my water and yeast mixture sit there until it becomes frothy).

I guess the most important thing about Sundays though, is to stop viewing them as the end, and start seeing them for what they are: still the weekend.

One comment

  1. Slow cookers are wonderful! I checked out a book from the library called Fresh From The Vegetarian Slow Cooker and made some of the recipes. They were very tasty and easy.

Leave a Reply

Becoming Mother

A book and a blog for first-time mothers

The New Vegan Family

Pregnancy, Parenting, and Easy Vegan Food.

A Spoonful of Nature

Lifestyle Blog

goodfoodmarsh

INTERNATIONAL FOODIE, FEMINIST & SA$$ QWEEN

Peaceful Parents, Confident Kids

Parenting With Respect

The Spirited Spondy

A detemined Spondy out to raise awareness for Ankylosing Spondylitis!

Anky..Spon...What?

Living with Ankylosing Spondylitis can be difficult but I manage one day at a time!

Asian Vegan Eats

Asian vegan recipes, food & restaurants

Attempting Perfection

Setting expectations too low has never been my problem

the living notebook

creativity : art : philosophy : productivity : writing

Edging West

Adventure + Culture + Environment

Painterly Pumpkins

Parenting, vegan cooking, writing, and the moments between.

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Kiran's Cooking Club

Everyday Indian Food

Lit For Kids

Introducing kids of all ages to the world of literature

Mom's Vegan Kitchen

Critter-free comfort food!

