Starting out with Smoothies

First of all, thank you to the positive responses I received regarding my last blog entry. Now that I’m writing again on here, I’ve committed myself to writing a post on food every Sunday. I’m also going to publish a post on Thursdays about another topic, such as gardening or writing. I appreciate your reading and will do all I can to make your time with this blog a meaningful experience.

Strawberry Kale Smoothie

I love starting the day with fruit and vegetables. It sets the tone for the day, reminding myself how good these foods can taste. I need this reminder, because like many people, I have a tendency to eat emotionally, and my emotions still tell me that fruits and vegetables are the least comforting of foods. If I drink a smoothie in the morning, and stop to notice how good my body feels, it helps me re-learn each day how to appreciate plant foods.

If you are interested in changing your diet, starting the day with a smoothie might be one simple change you can make. Try it for a few weeks and see how you feel. There are just a few caveats. One is, smoothies fill you up initially, but in my experience, I find I need to eat more often when eating plant-based food, so make sure you have a mid-morning snack, such as an apple with peanut butter, ready to go. Secondly, smoothies really do work best in high-powered blenders. If you plan on making this a regular part of your life, you may wish to invest in one. Finally, I’m used to the taste of kale, and am perfectly fine with it in my smoothies (you really do mostly taste the sweetness of the fruit). However, I think it’s best to work your way up to it, rather than diving into a kale smoothie, hating it, and then giving up on smoothies in general. I’d recommend a few mornings of making the recipe without kale, then a few mornings of just adding a small amount of kale, until you work yourself up to the recipe’s amount.

My husband came up with this smoothie containing kale, strawberries, and chia seeds (I talk a bit more about chia seeds here), all of which are nutritional powerhouses. Use non-dairy milk that’s been fortified with calcium and vitamins to really stock up on your nutrition for the day.

Strawberry-Kale Smoothie

  • 1-1/4 cup soy milk, or other non-dairy milk *
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries (not thawed)
  • 1 banana, fresh or frozen (the smoothie will be thicker with a frozen banana)
  • 2 – 3 medium to large leaves of kale, thick stems removed
  • 2 – 3 teaspoons of chia seeds
  • 1/2 – 1 teaspoon of honey, optional (the sweetness really helps mask the flavor of kale) **

Blend all ingredients until smooth. This will serve one hungry person, or one adult and one child, or two less hungry adults.

* I drink soy milk because it is nutritionally similar to cow’s milk. Other non-dairy milks lack the protein. Many foods can be harmful in large quantities, but two servings of soy a day can be a healthful part of a diet, if you’re not allergic to soy, of course. This article provides a comprehensive look at some of the research on this.

** I describe myself as vegan, but do eat honey. Many vegans would disagree with this, and I totally respect their thinking. For awhile, I didn’t eat any honey, but after considering it, I’ve decided I would like to support local, organic bee-keepers because I believe they have a role to play in assisting with the declining honeybee population.

Enjoy your smoothie and your week. Thank you so much for reading.

6 comments

  1. Thanks! You have a beautiful blog. I enjoyed reading your smoothie and hummus recipes.

  2. Love this recipe! I am so thankful for the tip of starting the day with fruits and veggies. If I ran out of milk, would it work to do a scoop of nut butter and water as the base?

    1. Hmmm…I’m not quite sure. I’ve never tried it with water, but it sounds like it could work. You’ll have to let me know!

  3. thanks for the smoothie tips. how about the frozen banana giving a thicker smoothie. will give it a try. here peaches are in season giving tasty peachy smoothies. be creative, as long as it blends it’s a go.

    1. I agree–smoothies are a great chance to be creative. Almost anything works. I wish peaches were in season here!

Leave a Reply

Becoming Mother

A book and a blog for first-time mothers

The New Vegan Family

Pregnancy, Parenting, and Easy Vegan Food.

goodfoodmarsh

INTERNATIONAL FOODIE, FEMINIST & SA$$ QWEEN

Peaceful Parents, Confident Kids

Parenting With Respect

The Spirited Spondy

A detemined Spondy out to raise awareness for Ankylosing Spondylitis!

Anky..Spon...What?

Living with Ankylosing Spondylitis can be difficult but I manage one day at a time!

Asian Vegan Eats

Asian vegan recipes, food & restaurants

Attempting Perfection

Setting expectations too low has never been my problem

the living notebook

creativity : art : philosophy : productivity : writing

Edging West

Adventure + Culture + Environment

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Kiran's Cooking Club

Everyday Indian Food

Lit For Kids

Introducing kids of all ages to the world of literature

Mom's Vegan Kitchen

Critter-free comfort food!

forveggiesake

....... LIFE'S A PEACH!

