Istanbul

A few weeks ago, I was fortunate enough to be able to travel to Istanbul.  This city, stradling two continents, has at least 15 million people, 95% of whom of Muslim.  Every morning, I laid awake around 4:30, listening to the call the prayer.  Those half-awake minutes, with words I could not understand but could feel, are some of my favorite memories of the trip.  Since being back, many people have inquired as to whether I felt safe traveling there.  While at times I was overwhelmed by the sheer number of people on the streets, never once did I feel unsafe or fearful.  My husband and I were actually much more laid back when it can to money belts, wallets, bags, and purses than we had been in Italy a few years ago.  I can’t explain exactly why – there was just a very positive, safe feeling everywhere we went, whether it was a very touristy area, or less-traveled neighborhood, where we very obviously stood out.

I’d known I wanted to post about my experiences, however, after last week’s events in the beautiful city of Boston, I began to realize how important it is to share the wonderful experiences I had in this predominantly Muslim city.  I lived in Washington, DC during 9/11, and saw how the Muslim community, along with many Sikhs (mis-identified as Muslims), were adversely affected by the fear that a few had caused.  As I post, the motives of the Boston violence are still unknown, but I have heard much talk about the suspects’ faith, and hope that the Muslim community is not harmed in any way due to this.

While the pictures from our trip should speak for themselves, I’d like to tell one final story about our trip to Istanbul.  My husband and I went to buy tickets for a boat trip early on Saturday morning.  We had some time before the boat left, so we walked around the water and then decided to sit on a bench and people watch.  All of the benches were still wet, and as we stood contemplating one, a man sitting on the next bench over got our attention, and then handed us part of his newspaper.  He gestured to show that he was also sitting on newspaper.  We thanked him with our limited Turkish, and then spread the newspaper and sat next to him, watching the city wake up.  Human interactions like this are the antidote to hatred and fear.

Mothers walk with their children in a quiet neighborhood along the old walls of Constantinople.

Mothers walk with their children in a quiet neighborhood along the old walls of Constantinople.

Corn on the cob is a popular snack sold on the street.

Corn on the cob is a popular snack sold on the street.

IMG_2647

Inside this mosque, a little boy waits restlessly while the adults pray.

A simit vendor (simit is a bagel-like bread) sets up in the morning.

A simit vendor (simit is a bagel-like bread) sets up in the morning.

On a sunny Sunday, the park fills with families.

On a sunny Sunday, the park fills with families.

May this week be filled with peace for all.

3 comments

  1. Cindy Anderson · · Reply

    Thanks for sharing. I also had a sweet, positive experience yesterday, reminding me too that there are many wonderful people in the world. I was helping my daughter shop yesterday and was pushing a cart out to the van. As we went down the sloping sidewalk, the babygates that were on the bottom rack of my cart slid out onto the ground. I also had a load of bags, a 1 yrs old granddaughter and a large rubber ball in the cart. A man and his three sons going into the store rushed over to help. The father and the oldest boy each took a babygate and offered to walk me to my van. The youngest boy wanted to help so he carried the ball (it was a windy morning)! They really made my day.

  2. That’s great, Cindy! I love moments like that. Thanks for sharing.

  3. So glad you shared this, and that you both had the wonderful opportunity to go to Istanbul. I almost went there to study while in college. I wish I would have. It is one place, of many, I would like to experience.

Leave a Reply

Becoming Mother

A book and a blog for first-time mothers

The New Vegan Family

Pregnancy, Parenting, and Easy Vegan Food.

goodfoodmarsh

INTERNATIONAL FOODIE, FEMINIST & SA$$ QWEEN

Peaceful Parents, Confident Kids

Parenting With Respect

The Spirited Spondy

A detemined Spondy out to raise awareness for Ankylosing Spondylitis!

Anky..Spon...What?

Living with Ankylosing Spondylitis can be difficult but I manage one day at a time!

Asian Vegan Eats

Asian vegan recipes, food & restaurants

Attempting Perfection

Setting expectations too low has never been my problem

the living notebook

creativity : art : philosophy : productivity : writing

Edging West

Adventure + Culture + Environment

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Kiran's Cooking Club

Everyday Indian Food

Lit For Kids

Introducing kids of all ages to the world of literature

Mom's Vegan Kitchen

Critter-free comfort food!

forveggiesake

....... LIFE'S A PEACH!

