Comforting Cornbread

Whenever I’m planning a meal that seems like it will be really satisfying, I tell my husband it will be “the ultimate in comfort food.”  It’s become a bit of a joke between us, but I think cornbread really deserves to be in this category.

I’ve been making gluten-free vegan cornbread a lot this winter.  I love to serve it with a bowl of bean chili and a salad.  I promise, you will not miss the gluten, dairy, eggs, or oil in the following recipe.

Cornbread and ChiliGluten-Free Vegan Cornbread:

  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/2 cup sorghum flour
  • 1 cup cornmeal (yellow or white)
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup applesauce (unsweetened)
  • 1 cup non-dairy milk (unsweetened)

1.  Preheat the oven to 400.  Grease an 8 inch square baking pan with vegetable oil nonstick spray.

2.  Mix the dry ingredients together in a large bowl (I like to use a wire whisk for this step).

3.  Add the maple syrup, applesauce, and non-dairy milk.  Mix together until just combined with a wooden spoon.  If you’d like, you can also add 1/2 cup of (thawed) frozen corn to the batter.

4.  Pour into the prepared pan.  Bake for about 20 minutes, or until a knife inserted inside comes out clean.  I like just a tiny bit of brown on top.

Serve warm and enjoy!

Ingredient Notes:

  • Real maple syrup has become my sweetener of choice, since it seems to be the only one that I can buy that comes from family-owned American farms.  When purchasing maple syrup, Grade B is a great choice – in fact, I’ve read before that it’s actually recommended to buy this grade.
  • Use a non-dairy milk of your choice.  I generally use almond milk, but also enjoy hemp (which is a good way to incorporate more Omega 3s into your diet).  Make sure to buy unsweetened – added sugar is not advertised on the front of the carton like I wish it was.  Read the ingredients if necessary.
  • Applesauce is a great substitute for oil in baked goods.  Again, check the ingredients to make sure you’re not buying sugar or even corn syrup.

Vegan Cornbread

3 comments

  1. I’ve been constantly craving cornbread lately, which is sort of odd for me. This recipe is certainly one I’ll have to try out. Thanks!

    1. Thank you for your comment! I just took a look at your blog and loved it! It seems we have a lot of similar interests. I’m looking forward to reading more!

  2. Barbara · · Reply

    This sounds so yummy! I want to make it as soon as I get the flours. I read that It is healthier to buy grade B maple syrup since it isn’t processed/refined to the degree grade A is.

Leave a Reply

Becoming Mother

A book and a blog for first-time mothers

The New Vegan Family

Pregnancy, Parenting, and Easy Vegan Food.

goodfoodmarsh

INTERNATIONAL FOODIE, FEMINIST & SA$$ QWEEN

Peaceful Parents, Confident Kids

Parenting With Respect

The Spirited Spondy

A detemined Spondy out to raise awareness for Ankylosing Spondylitis!

Anky..Spon...What?

Living with Ankylosing Spondylitis can be difficult but I manage one day at a time!

Asian Vegan Eats

Asian vegan recipes, food & restaurants

Attempting Perfection

Setting expectations too low has never been my problem

the living notebook

creativity : art : philosophy : productivity : writing

Edging West

Adventure + Culture + Environment

Steve McCurry's Blog

Steve's body of work spans conflicts, vanishing cultures, ancient traditions and contemporary culture alike - yet always retains the human element. www.stevemccurry.com

Kiran's Cooking Club

Everyday Indian Food

Lit For Kids

Introducing kids of all ages to the world of literature

Mom's Vegan Kitchen

Critter-free comfort food!

forveggiesake

....... LIFE'S A PEACH!

